top of page
Search

UNEXPECTED ADMISSION

Updated: May 1, 2019

It started off as a normal day, yes I was exhausted from chemo but I didn't expect to be rushed to the emergency department with severe abdominal pain. And when I say severe, I mean screaming out, begging for help kind of severe. I can't begin to describe the pain I was feeling, it was unbearable!

To be honest with you, I can't remember the days following my admission to hospital. One day turned into one week, then everything started to blur. If having cancer wasn't enough, the next four weeks proved to be the longest, most demanding weeks to date.

In my neutropenic state, I developed pneumonia which required me to be on oxygen permanently as my saturations were plummeting. As the days went on my health deteriorated. Ultrasounds and CT scans revealed multiple pools of infection invading my abdomen. After trying to fight the infection with six different antibiotics, it was decided that I would need laparoscopic surgery in order to drain the infection. This would be my first surgery, but not my last. I have always had a fear of being anaesthetised, however, in this moment I was forced to be brave.


Following surgery I appeared to be doing a lot better and started to gain more strength everyday. Finally a VICTORY!

Now another challenge had to be faced. I am 18kg down from my admission weight and this is dangerous as I prepare for my second cycle of chemo. I found it very difficult to eat as my abdomen was so swollen and uncomfortable subsequent to surgery. On the 5th March, I started TPN (total parenteral nutrition). It is a method of feeding that bypasses the gastrointestinal tract and provides most of the nutrients the body needs to function. It required me to be attached to a feeding tube 24 hours a day. This made it difficult to move around, however, everyday I pushed myself to get out of bed and roam the ward corridors. Eventually my feeding times were adjusted, giving me 6 hours a day, free of tubes. To me, this was another small achievement worth celebrating.

After four eventful weeks in the hospital, I was finally discharged.


Until next time,


Chi x



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page